You are here

Divisional Realignment of Northern District of Mississippi


On October 5, 2012, the President signed H.B. 5512, the Divisional Realignment Act of 2012, which becomes effective December 4, 2012, and eliminates the Delta Division, in which there is no longer a federal courthouse. The three divisions in the Northern District have been renamed as detailed below. The counties that were in the Delta Division have been absorbed by the remaining three divisions, with other adjustments being made to best accommodate the interests of the litigants, jurors, and the Bar. In accordance with the Act, the Local Uniform Civil Rules for the Northern and Southern Districts of Mississippi have been amended to reflect these changes. The amended Rules will be posted on the websites for both the Northern and Southern Districts of Mississippi. Uniform Local Civil Rules (Effective December 1, 2012)

Click Here for a Map of the Divisional Layout

Aberdeen Division: Alcorn, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Itawamba, Lee, Lowndes, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Prentiss, Tishomingo, Webster, and Winston.

Oxford Division: Benton, Calhoun, DeSoto, Lafayette, Marshall, Panola, Pontotoc, Quitman, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tunica, Union, and Yalobusha.

Greenville Division: Attala, Bolivar, Carroll, Coahoma, Grenada, Humphreys, Leflore, Montgomery, Sunflower, and Washington