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UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLAINTS UNDER 42 U.S.C. §1983 
CHALLENING CONDITIONS OF CONFINEMENT 

1.  All Complaints should be submitted on the Northern District of Mississippi’s Form P3, 
pursuant to the court’s Standing Order dated September 17, 1998. Complaints must be 
typewritten or legibly handwritten, and signed by you under penalty of perjury.  Any 
false statement of a material fact may serve as the basis for prosecution and conviction 
for perjury. All questions must be answered concisely in the proper space of Form P3. 

2.  Use the spaces provided in Form P3 to present your case. Do not use additional pages except 
with respect to the facts upon which you rely to support your case. Citation of cases, 
statutes, or other authority is not required. Briefs and arguments are not required; 
however, if they are provided, they must be submitted in the form of a separate 
memorandum. 

3.  Mail Complaint to: 

  Pro Se Law Clerk, U.S. District Court 
  Post Office Box 704 
  Aberdeen, MS  39730 

4.  Only the original is to be filed with the court.  If a file-stamped copy is to be returned, provide 
a copy of the complaint and a self-addressed stamped envelope with adequate postage to 
cover costs of mailing a file-stamped copy to you. 

5.  You must pay the filing fee of $400 ($350 filing fee + $50 administrative fee).  If you 
cannot pay this fee, you may seek authorization to proceed in forma pauperis by 
completing the Pauperis Affidavit Form attached at the end of this form.  If the Court 
grants in forma pauperis status, your prison account will be assessed the filing fee of 
$350.
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IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PRISONERS 
FILING AN ACTION UNDER 42 U.S.C. §1983 

 On April 26, 1996, the President of the United States signed into law certain amendments 
to Title 28, United States Code, Section 1915 and Section 1932, entitled the Prison Litigation 
Reform Act.  The Governor of Mississippi also approved amendments passed by the Mississippi 
Legislature to Section 47-5-138 of the Mississippi Code of 1972. These amendments may affect 
your decision to continue with this lawsuit. 

I.  IMPOSITION OF FILING FEES 

 In accordance with the 1996 amendments to the in forma pauperis (IFP) statute, as a 
prisoner you will be obligated to pay the filing fee of $400 ($350 filing fee + $50 administrative 
fee) for a civil action, $5.00 for a habeas corpus petition, or $455 for an appeal. 

 1.  If you have the money to pay the filing fee, you should immediately send a cashier’s 
check or money order to the court. 

 2.  If you do not have enough money to pay the full filing fee the court will assess an 
initial partial filing fee thirty (30) days from the filing of your complaint. The initial partial filing 
fee will be equal to 20 percent of the average monthly deposits to your prison account for the last 
six months or 20 percent of the average monthly balance in your prison account for the last six 
months period, whichever is greater. The court will order the agency that has custody of you to 
take that initial partial filing fee out of your prisoner account as soon as funds are available and 
to forward the money to the court. 

 After the initial partial filing fee has been paid, you will owe the balance of the filing fee.  
Until the amount of the filing fee is paid in full, each month you will owe 20 percent of your 
preceding month’s income credited to your prison account toward the balance. The agency that 
has custody of you will collect that money and send payments to the court any time the amount 
in your account exceeds $10.00. 

 3.  Regardless of whether some or all of the filing fee has been paid, the court is required 
to screen your complaint and to DISMISS the complaint if:   

a. Your allegation of poverty is untrue 
b. The action is frivolous or malicious; 
c. Your complaint does not state a claim upon which relief can be granted; or 
d.  You sue a defendant for money damages and that defendant is immune 

from liability for money damages.  
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4.  Judgments including costs – If a judgment is rendered against you that includes the 
payment of costs, you will be required to pay the full amount of the costs ordered.  You will be 
required to make payments for costs in the same manner as is provided (above, page 1, section I.) 
for filing fees. 

II.  NOTICE AND WARNING

1.  Federal Law – Future Suits May be Barred 
 Under the new amendments to 28 U.S.C. §1915, if a prisoner has, on 3 or more prior 
occasions, while incarcerated or detained in any facility, brought an action or appeal in a court of 
the United States that was dismissed on the grounds that it is frivolous, malicious, or fails to 
state a claim upon which relief may be granted, the prisoner will be barred from bringing any 
further civil action or appeal a judgment in a civil action or proceeding unless the prisoner is 
under imminent danger of serious physical injury.  28 U.S.C. §1915, 804(g) 

2.  Federal Law – Loss of Good Time 
 Under the new amendment to 28 U.S.C. §1932, in any civil action brought by an adult 
convicted of a crime and confined in a Federal Correctional Facility, if the court finds that the 
claim was filed for a malicious purpose, or the claim was filed solely to harass the party against 
which it was filed, or the claimant testifies falsely or otherwise knowingly presents false 
evidence or information to the court, the court may order the revocation of earned good time 
credit under 18 U.S.C. §3624(b), that has not yet vested.

3.  State Law – Loss of Good Time 
 Under the new amendments to Mississippi Code 47-5-138, if a lawsuit brought by an 
inmate while the inmate was in the custody of the Department of Corrections is dismissed as 
frivolous or malicious, by a final order, the department shall forfeit:  

a. Sixty (60) days of an inmate’s accrued earned time if the department has received 
one (1) final order; 

b. One hundred twenty (120) days of an inmate’s accrued earned time if the 
department has received two (2) final orders; 

c. One hundred eighty (180) days of an inmate’s accrued earned time if the 
department has received three (3) or more final orders. 

The Department may not restore earned time forfeited under this section. 

 In light of the potential consequences of having your case dismissed as “frivolous” you 
are advised that the term “frivolous” may have a legal meaning that is different from what you 
consider this term to mean. Even though you are completely sincere in your suit, it may be 
dismissed as “frivolous” if it lacks an arguable basis in law or fact. Thus, a case may be found to 
be legally “frivolous” where it seeks to assert a “right” or address a “wrong” clearly not 
recognized by federal law.  See e.g., Neitzke v. Williams, 490 U.S. 319 (1989) 

David Crews 
Clerk of Court 
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Authorization for Release of Institutional Account Information and
Payment of the Filing Fee Certificate must

Authorization for Release of Institutional Account Information and Payment
of the Filing Fee
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